Nttc Safety Trophy

National Tank Truck Carriers reveals 2020 Grand Award winners

April 6, 2021
Industry’s 22 safest carriers, private fleets by mileage class now advance to final round of the North American Safety Contest

The finalists for the 2020 North American Safety Contest are locked in.

National Tank Truck Carriers (NTTC) on Tuesday revealed the 22 carriers and private fleets selected as Grand Award winners by producing the best safety records and lowest accident frequencies in their mileage classes. Now they move on to compete for the coveted Heil Trophy in the Harvison and Sutherland divisions.

The winners will be announced on stage June 15 during the 2021 Annual Conference & Exhibits in Indianapolis IN.

“Congratulations to these carriers and fleets for achieving the Grand Awards in their respective mileage categories,” said Ryan Streblow, interim NTTC president.
“These companies and their entire teams should be immensely proud of such a commendable safety performance among one of the safest segments in trucking.

“Carriers and fleets across the board reported record-low DOT frequency numbers and improvements over 2019. These results speak to the focus and dedication on safety within the tank truck industry.”

The Sutherland division includes operations at or less than 15 million miles, and the Harvison division covers operations with more than 15 million miles. The divisions are named after the association’s first two and longest-tenured presidents, Austin Sutherland, who served from 1945 to 1972, and Cliff Harvison (1972-2005).

During a virtual North American Safety Contest presentation last October, Trimac Transportation claimed the 2019 Outstanding Performance Trophy—aka the Heil Trophy—in the Harvison division, which is for carriers with operations covering more than 15 million miles; and G&D Trucking/Hoffman Transportation secured the top award in the Sutherland division for carriers at or less than 15 million miles.

Past Heil Trophy winners

(Since award split into two mileage divisions in 2014)

  • 2014: Tidewater Transit Co., Harvison; Wynne Transport, Sutherland
  • 2015: Miller Transporters, Harvison; Carbon Express, Sutherland
  • 2016: Groendyke Transport, Harvison; GLS Transport, Sutherland
  • 2017: Gemini Motor Transport, Harvison; G&D Trucking/Hoffman Transportation, Sutherland
  • 2018: Groendyke Transport, Harvison; Tandet Logistics, Sutherland
  • 2019: Trimac Transportation, Harvison; G&D Trucking/Hoffman Transportation, Sutherland

In addition to naming the 2020 winners, all Grand Award recipients will be recognized during NTTC’s Annual Conference.

“I’d like to thank our sponsor for this contest, Heil Trailer International, for their continued support of our safety program, which strengthens this important pillar of NTTC’s mission,” Streblow said.

The 2020 North American Safety Contest Grand Award winners are:

For-hire carriers

Less than 3.5 million miles

  • AG Energy Transport, Buchanan MI
  • Transmark, Greensburg IN
  • Lacy’s Express, Pedricktown NJ
  • Ventura Transfer Company, Long Beach CA
  • Liquid Cargo, West Palm Beach FL
  • Quick-Way, Ludington MI

3.5 to 5 million miles

  • LCL Bulk Transport, Green Bay WI
  • Weaver Bros., Anchorage AK
  • US Container Depot, West Palm Beach FL

5 to 7 million miles

  • Newman Carriers, Fairmont City IL

7 to 12.5 million miles

  • Wynne Transport Service, Omaha NE
  • Harmac Transportation, North York ON

12.5 to 15 million miles

  • Fort Transfer Company, Morton IL

15 to 18.5 million miles

  • RST Industries Limited, Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada

18.5 to 31.5 million miles

  • Suttles Truck Leasing, Demopolis AL

31.5 to 40 million miles

  • Grammer Logistics, Columbus IN

40 to 90 million miles

  • Heniff Transportation Systems, Oak Brook IL

Over 90 million miles

  • Gemini Motor Transport, Oklahoma City OK

Private fleets

Less Than 3.5 million miles

  • Poolsure, Houston TX

5 to 7 million miles

  • LSP Transport, Bryan TX

18.5 to 31.5 million miles

  • CLI Transport, Altoona PA

Over 90 million miles

  • Pilot Travel Centers, Knoxville TN
About the Author

BT staff