NTTC safety trophy

NTTC names safety award finalists

March 18, 2020
18 for-hire carriers, private fleets recognized as mileage class winners, sending them to second stage of contest

The National Tank Truck Carriers (NTTC) recently revealed the finalists for its 2019 North American Safety Contest.

The 18 carriers and private fleets that were selected produced the best safety records in their mileage classes, operating with the fewest accidents per million mile rate and the lowest personnel incident rates, the association said.

“Congratulations to these first-class carriers and fleets for winning their respective mileage categories,” said Daniel Furth, NTTC’s president. “This year’s contest so far has been especially competitive, so these carriers and their whole teams should be very proud of their safety performance in one of the safest segments in trucking.

“I’d like to thank our sponsor for this contest, Heil Trailer International, for their continued support of our safety program, which strengthens this important pillar of NTTC’s mission.”

North American Safety Contest Grand Award winners

For-hire carrier class:

  • Over 90 million—Trimac Transportation, Calgary, AB, Canada
  • 40-90 million—Oakley Transport, Lake Wales FL
  • 31.5-40 million—J&M Tank Lines, Birmingham AL
  • 18.5-31.5 million—Andrews Logistics Texas, Southlake TX
  • 15-18.5 million—Atlantic Bulk Carrier, Providence Forge VA
  • 12.5-15 million—RST Industries Limited, St John, NB, Canada
  • 7-12.5 million—G&D Trucking/Hoffman Transportation Channahon IL
  • 5-7 million—Newman Carriers, Fairmont City IL
  • 3.5-5 million—Iowa Tank Lines, Roosevelt UT
  • Less than 3.5 million—Vickery Transportation, Vickery OH; Transmark, Greenburg IN; Glendenning Brothers, Stillman Valley IL; J&S Transport Co, Lynn MA; AG Energy Transport, Buchanan MI

Private fleet class:

  • Over 90 million—Gemini Motor Transport, Oklahoma City OK
  • 18.5-31.5 million—CLI Transport, Altoona PA
  • 3.5-5 million—LSP Transport, Bryan TX
  • Less than 3.5 million—Poolsure, Houston TX

These carriers now move on to the second stage of the contest, where they compete for the coveted Heil Trophy in two broader divisions: The Sutherland Division for operations at or under 15 million miles, and the Harvison Division for operations over 15 million miles.

The Mileage Divisions are named after the association’s first two and longest-serving presidents: Austin Sutherland (1945-1972) and his successor, Cliff Harvison (1972-2005). All Grand Award Winners and the winners of the Heil Trophy will be recognized during NTTC’s Safety and Security Council Meeting set for June 16-18 in Biloxi MS.