Dean Kaplan takes the helm as NTTC chairman

May 6, 2014

The National Tank Truck Carriers membership elected Dean Kaplan as the organization’s 2015-2015 chairman at the association’s annual meeting in Las Vegas on April 28. Kaplan also is chief executive officer of K-Limited Carrier Ltd in Toledo OH.

“The opportunity to serve as your Chairman is very close to the pinnacle of my career as a tank trucker and it offers me the ultimate opportunity to give back to the industry I love and deeply care about,” Kaplan said. “During my term wielding the chairman’s gavel, I plan to focus on two important areas.

“First, I am 100% committed to continue our emphasis on our drivers and their contributions to tank truck safety and professionalism. Our drivers are the lifeblood of our industry and it is our job to make their work as safe and reliable as possible and that’s why we launched our Professional Tank Truck Driver of the Year recognition program.

“My second priority is to continue to build upon the strength and relevancy of our NTTC Political Action Committee (NTTC PAC). Through the participation of the entire organization, we will continue to address the regulatory and safety challenges facing us all.”

K-Limited was founded in January, 1997 with just a few trucks and one small rented office space. Today, the company operates more than 100 tractors and 212 tank trailers and stands as a nationally-recognized liquid bulk carrier and one of the most successful carriers in the Midwest region.

Kaplan was born into a trucking family and has served the trucking industry his entire life. He is a member of the Board of Directors of the Ohio Trucking Association and a member of the American Trucking Associations where he serves on its Small Carrier committee and as a director of TruckPAC.

Kaplan succeeds Jim Shaeffer, president of McKenzie Tank Lines Inc, who will now serve as chairman of the NTTC’s executive committee.