F Sr8 Ml9 R Ka I Tb1 F Su Nga Driver Of The Year No White Space

NTTC reveals finalists for 2021-22 Tank Truck Driver of the Year

Dec. 21, 2021
Eighth winner of tank truck association's prestigious professional driver award to be revealed at 2022 Annual Conference & Exhibits in April

National Tank Truck Carriers on Tuesday revealed the eight professional tank truck drivers selected as this year’s champion finalists for the Professional Tank Truck Driver of the Year Award.

“Congratulations to the eight champion finalists and all of the professional drivers who applied this year,” said Ryan Streblow, NTTC President and CEO. “In our unique segment, safety is the single most critical element of success, and these finalists epitomize the safety culture that the tank truck industry is recognized for.

“Thanks to our program sponsor Great West Casualty Company and our esteemed judges whose support makes the Professional Tank Truck Driver of the Year contest one of the top driver recognition programs in all of trucking.”

The 2021-22 champion finalists:

  • Robert Anderson, Florida Rock & Tank Lines
  • James W. Ellis, Sr., Grammer Logistics
  • Thomas Frain, Highway Transport
  • Dean Hansen, Trimac Transportation
  • Richard "Jerry" Locke, Kenan Advantage Group
  • Daniel Smith, Kenan Advantage Group
  • Demetrius Stewart, Eagle Transport
  • Michael White, Quality Carriers

These drivers now advance to the final round of the selection process next month in Washington, D.C., where a panel of industry professionals will judge the finalists on their knowledge of the tank truck industry, dedication to safety, ability to communicate the industry’s messages, overall safe driving record, and their positive community efforts outside of their driving responsibilities.

The 2021-2022 Professional Tank Truck Driver of the Year Grand Champion will be unveiled during NTTC’s 2022 Annual Conference & Exhibits set for April 23-26 at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront in San Diego, Calif.  During the Grand Champion’s one-year term, he will serve as the face of the industry, representing NTTC at safety-focused events throughout the year, and sharing NTTC’s mission of safety and education with the general public.

Past winners of the William A. Usher, Sr. Trophy include:

  • 2013-14—James Starr, Groendyke Transport
  • 2014-15—Bobby Weller, Hahn Transportation
  • 2015-16—Darryl Nowell, Eagle Transport
  • 2016-17—Todd Stine, Carbon Express
  • 2017-18—Paul Emerson, Foodliner
  • 2018-19—Barbara Herman, K-Limited Carrier
  • 2019-20—Program suspended due to pandemic
  • 2020-21—Ron Baird, G&D Trucking/Hoffman Transportation 
About the Author

BT staff