Bulktransporter 6894 Groendyke Trucks Chuck Wilson
Bulktransporter 6894 Groendyke Trucks Chuck Wilson
Bulktransporter 6894 Groendyke Trucks Chuck Wilson
Bulktransporter 6894 Groendyke Trucks Chuck Wilson
Bulktransporter 6894 Groendyke Trucks Chuck Wilson

Groendyke, Tandet Logistics earn NTTC’s safety trophies

April 16, 2019
NTTC recently revealed this year’s safety trophy winners are Groendyke Transport and Tandet Logistics.

National Tank Truck Carriers recently revealed that this year’s safety trophy winners are Groendyke Transport Inc of Enid OK and Tandet Logistics Inc of Oakville ON, Canada. 

The two carriers will receive their awards during the NTTC’s upcoming 71st Annual Conference & Exhibits program to be held at the Wynn Las Vegas from April 23 to April 25. Heil Trailer International sponsors the NTTC’s North American Safety Awards, which recognize the best tank truck safety programs.

“Congratulations to both Groendyke and Tandet,” said NTTC Chairman John Whittington of Grammer Industries. “This year’s contest was particularly competitive across all mileage classes, so both carriers should be extremely proud of their company-wide safety performance. With Heil’s continued support, we’re pleased to recognize these two carriers as best in class, which underscores the NTTC’s safety-based mission.”

Groendyke Transport is a privately held, family-owned company and now an eight-time North American Safety Champion for best overall safety record and program in North America. The company has 42 terminals in 15 states and services 49 states, Canada, and Mexico.

Tandet Logistics is a division of the Tandet Group, a family-owned and managed company that provides services in the transport, leasing, brokerage, and power generation markets. Tandet operates within Canada and across the border delivering to and from all provinces and states in continental North America. Tandet has been recognized by NTTC as a Safety Contest Grand Award recipient in its mileage class six times since 2005.

“Heil Trailer is very proud to recognize these two winning motor carriers. Congratulations to both Groendyke Transport and Tandet Logisitics for bringing home the NTTC North American Safety Champion trophies,” said EnTrans International’s CEO, Doug Chapple.

“The two Heil trophies embody a commitment to safety and what it means within our essential industry.”

The Mileage Divisions are named after the association’s first two and longest-serving presidents:  Austin Sutherland (1945-1972) and his successor, Cliff Harvison (1972-2005). The mileage-based dividing line of the fleet size categories is 15 million miles. 

Groendyke led the 40 to 90 million mileage category within the Harvison Division with an accident frequency of 0.462 accidents per million miles. 

In the Sutherland Division, Tandet is the champion in the 5 to 7 million miles class. Tandet’s accident frequency of .150 accidents per million miles was the winning mark in that category. 

By winning their respective mileage classes, both motor carriers qualified as finalists. Groendyke Transport’s Mike Elmenhorst and Dave Herdman of Tandet Logistics will also be recognized as NTTC's Safety Professionals of the Year at the Safety Awards banquet during the Annual meeting of NTTC’s Tank Truck Safety & Security Council on June 20 in Fort Lauderdale FL.

About the Author

Informa Commercial Vehicle Staff