ATA announces America’s Road Team finalists

Nov. 2, 2016

The American Trucking Associations named 33 professional truck drivers as finalists in the selection process to become Captains on the 2017-2018 America’s Road Team.

“These professional drivers were chosen as finalists for America’s Road Team because they are proven industry ambassadors with long safety records and professionalism that projects a positive image of our industry’s 3.5 million truck drivers,” said ATA President and Chief Executive Officer Chris Spear. “America’s Road Team will continue to serve as a voice for the trucking industry and build on its 30-year legacy of educating the public on highway safety and the trucking industry’s important role in our economy. We are honored to have these finalists participate in this prestigious selection process and I look forward to meeting them in January.”

America’s Road Team, a group of professional truck drivers with superior safety records, was created in 1986 to represent the trucking industry and is sponsored by Volvo Trucks.

“America’s Road Team’s grassroots efforts are closely aligned with our mission at Volvo Trucks,” said Göran Nyberg, president of Volvo Trucks North America. “From conversations with a Captain, a member of the media or public official can walk away with an entirely different perspective of our industry. Those types of impressions are invaluable and help change the national conversation about trucking.” 

The 33 professional truck drivers now move on to the final round of the selection process, being held January 8-12, 2017 in Arlington VA. A panel of industry officials and trucking news media will judge the contestants on their knowledge of the trucking industry, dedication to safety, ability to communicate the industry’s messages, and overall safe driving record. The finalists, with a combined total of 77.6 million safe-driving miles and 893 years as professional truck drivers, are highway safety experts eager to share their message with the motoring public.

The newly chosen 2017-2018 America’s Road Team will be announced on January 12. New Captains, after receiving their signature navy blue America’s Road Team blazer, will begin working to share the industry’s message of safety, essentiality and sustainability with the motoring public, media, business groups, public officials, and their fellow truck drivers around the country.

“Being named a finalist for America’s Road Team is a major achievement for professional truck drivers and ATA congratulates each of them for this accomplishment,” said Elisabeth Barna, ATA chief operating officer and executive vice-president of industry affairs. “On this list you’ll find drivers with millions of safe-driving miles, state truck driving championship winners, community leaders, and role models in their companies.”

The finalists include:

Steve Brand, FedEx Freight, Union OH

Jon Brockway, Walmart Transportation, Westbrook ME

Brad Coffey, TCW, Murfreesboro TN

Bobby Covert, UPS Freight, Lexington KY

Scott Davis, ABF Freight, Kearney MO

Duane Donner, Walmart Transportation, Litchfield Park AZ

Donald Forrest, FedEx Freight, Winter Haven, FL

John Gaddy, Carbon Express, Asbury NJ

W Scott Harrison, K-Limited Carriers, Cincinnati OH

Rhonda Hartman, Old Dominion Freight Line, Des Moines IA

Gary Helms, Covenant Transport, Cleveland TN

Duane “Rusty” Holmes, UPS Freight, Odenville AL

Bill Krouse, YRC Freight, Shakopee MN

David Livingston, TCW, Springfield GA

Charles Lobsiger, Walmart Transportation, Alachua FL

Ronnie Luckadoo, UPS Freight, Forest City NC

Thomas McIntosh, YRC Freight, Aurora CO

Tim Melody, ABF Freight, Payette ID

James Moore, Saia LTL Freight, Magnolia TX

Chris Outen, FedEx Freight, Vancouver WA

Charlton Paul Jr., UPS Freight, Chester NY

Jeff Payne, Reddaway, Cedar City UT

James Quarles, Walmart Transportation, Laurens SC

Larry Rhein, FedEx Freight, Harrison AR

Stephen Richardson, Big G Express, Decatur AL

Michael Sheeds, Werner Enterprises, Bandera TX

Steven Smalley, ABF Freight, Mesa AZ

Gary Smith, Garner Trucking, Gomer OH

James Starr, Groendyke Transport, Wichita KS

Chris Sutton, UPS Freight, Erie PA

Barney “Earl” Taylor, Penske Logistics, Orlando FL

Tim Taylor, FedEx Freight, Valdosta GA

Jimmie Wisley, YRC Freight, Wichita KS