J&M Tank Lines
J Qa Uw3vu Qm2k7 Iv Ab0zh Rw Thumb B1b

ATA announces 36 finalists for 2022-23 America’s Road Team

Nov. 22, 2021
Recent NTTC Tank Truck Driver of the Year finalists James Ellis, Darrien Henderson among prestigious group of professional truck drivers

American Trucking Associations recently released the list of 36 professional truck drivers named as finalists for the 2022-23 term of America’s Road Team.

The prestigious list includes Grammer Logistics’ James Ellis and J&M Tank Lines’ Darrien Henderson—who both were finalists for National Tank Truck Carriers’ 2020-21 Professional Tank Truck Driver of the Year award.

“These men and women were selected as finalists for America’s Road Team because they have outstanding safe driving records, share a passion for the trucking industry and are role models among their peers,” said Chris Spear, ATA president and CEO. “We owe these professional drivers our gratitude, without them the American economy would come to a halt.”

America’s Road Team, a group of professional truck drivers with superior safety records, was created in 1986 to represent the trucking industry and is sponsored by Volvo Trucks. Captains, with support from their companies, dedicate a few days each month to attend industry events, speak at schools, or meet policymakers on behalf of the trucking industry.

The 36 finalists advance to the final round of the selection process, being held January in Arlington, Va. A panel of evaluators, including industry officials and trucking news media representatives will judge the contenders on their knowledge of the trucking industry, dedication to safety, ability to communicate the industry’s messages and overall safe driving record. The finalists, with a combined total of 75 million safe-driving miles and 923 years as professional truck drivers, are highway safety experts eager to share their experiences with the motoring public.

The newly chosen 2022-23 America’s Road Team will be announced Jan. 19 following a ceremony on Capitol Hill in Washington, D.C. New Captains, after receiving their signature navy blue America’s Road Team blazer, will begin working to share the industry’s message of safety, essentiality and sustainability with the motoring public, media, business and community groups, public officials and their fellow truck drivers around the country.

Captains from previous teams continue to serve as ambassadors to the industry and are called upon frequently to participate in safety events, speaking appearances and industry conferences.

“Being named a finalist for America’s Road Team is a major achievement for professional truck drivers and ATA congratulates each of them for this accomplishment, said Elisabeth Barna, executive vice president of industry affairs.
“America’s Road Team will continue to serve as a voice for the industry, which benefits from their professionalism, dedication and safety as they educate the public on highway safety, the role trucking plays in our economy and why the trucking industry is a great career option.”

To be nominated to serve as an America’s Road Team Captain, professional truck drivers must be employed or leased to an ATA member company. Each nominee should have an excellent safety record, and should demonstrate an ability to communicate his or her commitment to safety and passion for the industry. Nominees should also portray a positive image of the professional truck driver in all that they do.

This year’s finalists hail from 21 different states, haul a diverse assortment of products and materials, and range from short haul drivers to over-the-road drivers operating in all of the lower 48 states. The finalists represent a cross-section of the industry with experience ranging from four years to 43 years as professional truck drivers with anywhere from nearly 400,000 to 3.9 million safe driving miles.

The finalists are:

  • James Alvarez, United Parcel Service, Darien, Ill.
  • Peggy Arnold, Yellow, Manchester, Tenn.
  • Terry Bennett, ABF Freight System, Gainesville, Fla.
  • Bob Bramwell, ABF Freight System, Centerview, Mo.
  • Michael Buck, Yellow, Moore, Okla.
  • Teddy Butler, ABF Freight System, Hampton, Ga.
  • Kevin Byrnes, United Parcel Service, Sparta, N.J.
  • Robbie Cottrel, XPO Logistics, Bedford, Va.
  • Jesus Davila, Werner Enterprises, San Antonio, Texas
  • Ken Duncan, Walmart Transportation, Gorham, Maine
  • James Ellis, Grammer Logistics, Erwin, N.C.
  • Lalo Fernandez, FedEx Freight, Battle Ground, Ore.
  • Richard Frazer, Yellow, Rockford, Ill.
  • Charlie Fuller, FedEx Freight, Pembroke Pines, Fla.
  • Ritch Fundell, FedEx Freight, Tonica, Ill.
  • Salvador Gonzalez, TForce Freight, Ocala, Fla.
  • Darrien Henderson, J&M Tank Lines, Mobile, Ala.
  • John Henderson, TCW Inc., Lebanon, Tenn.
  • Lloyd Howell, TCW Inc., Birmingham, Ala.
  • Gina Jones, Werner Enterprises, Peoria, Ariz.
  • Dean Key, Ruan Transportation Management Systems, Primghar, Iowa
  • Glen Allen Kirk, Old Dominion Freight Line, Franklin, Ind.
  • William Kling, Old Dominion Freight Line, Elliottsburg, Pa.
  • Jon Matthew-George Mason, Old Dominion Freight Line, Newport, Mich.
  • Eddie Moody, Werner Enterprises, Jacksonville, Fla.
  • Jeffrey Mundis, TForce Freight, Harrisburg, Pa.
  • Scott Post, FedEx Ground, Maplewood, Minn.
  • Jeff Rose, Yellow, Creston, Ohio
  • Ron Round, Pottle’s Transportation LLC, Enfield, Maine
  • David Schroeder, FedEx Freight, Bellaire, Ohio
  • Eric Stein, Werner Enterprises Inc., Canajoharie, N.Y.
  • PJ Singh, Penske Logistics, Stockton, Calif.
  • Derrick Thorpe, TForce Freight, Rahway, N.J.
  • Bernard Wanyo, United Parcel Service, Newport, Pa.
  • Scott Wood, Penske Logistics, Shelby, N.C.
  • David Young, FedEx Freight, Charlotte, N.C.
About the Author

BT staff