First Outstanding Performance Trophy for Andrews Logistics

A MERE 13 years after being founded, Andrews Logistics Inc in Irving, Texas, became a first-time winner of the Outstanding Performance Trophy in the National Tank Truck Carriers (NTTC) 2009 Tank Truck Safety Contest. The company did so with a frequency of just .093 accidents per million miles.

Andrews Logistics ran 10.7 million miles in 2009, and it was selected out of a group of 18 carriers that won the Grand Award in their respective mileage categories for the 2009 calendar year. The carrier also is taking home Grand Awards in the “10 to 13 million miles class” in the Competitive Safety Contest and Personnel Safety Contest. Andrews Logistics also receives a sixth year improvement award.

The management team leading the winning company includes J Darron Eschle, president and chief executive officer, and Griff Odgers, vice-president of safety and risk management.

The Outstanding Performance Trophy is awarded annually by Heil Trailer International of Athens, Tennessee, and is presented to the carrier judged to have had the best safety program in the tank truck industry during the previous year.

Contest judges this year were: Tim Butters, City of Fairfax (Virginia) Fire Department; Ray Cotton, Transportation Security Administration; Clay Greene, Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration; and Randy Speight, American Chemistry Council.

NTTC conducts four annual safety contests. These include a Competitive Safety Contest in which carriers compete in separate mileage classes; the Safety Improvement Contest in which a carrier competes against its own record for the previous year; a Personnel Safety Contest that is based on injuries per hours worked; and the Outstanding Performance Contest.

Awards to safety directors in charge of the winning programs were presented at the NTTC Tank Truck Safety Council annual meeting in Nashville, Tennessee, in April. Winning companies will be recognized at the NTTC's 62nd Annual Conference & Tank Truck Equipment Show in Chicago, Illinois, May 10-12.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.