Skip navigation

CTA names safety winners

The California Trucking Association (CTA) has named its annual safety winners, including several bulk carriers.

In selecting the winners, an independent panel of judges chosen from government agencies such as the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, Department of Motor Vehicles, and the California Highway Patrol reviews the carrier audit results. The panel looks at how the company organizes its safety programs, as well as training, driver supervision, preventive maintenance, and the overall record of accident reduction. A field audit is then performed by CTA safety staff to insure the accuracy of all winning entries, according to CTA information.

Bulk carriers taking home awards include Fleet Safely Award, Ventura Transfer Co, first place, intermodal; Gazelle Transportation, first place, liquid tank/vacuum; Plastic Express, second place, liquid tank/vacuum; Dedicated Fleet Systems Inc, third place, liquid tank/vacuum; Royal Trucking, first place, cement/dump; and Apex Bulk Commodities Inc, second place, cement/dump.

Bulk carriers also won recognition in other categories, including Apex Bulk Commodities, first place, truckload, over four million miles and Dedicated Fleet Systems Inc, first place, truckload, 2-4 million miles.

Sam Cross of Rocha Transportation was named Fleet Safety Professional of the Year and Mike Siebert of Apex Logistics was named Maintenance Professional of the Year.

Royal Trucking won the Grand Trophy Award in the over-$10 million gross revenue category.

TAGS: Archive
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.