Bulktransporter 4803 K Limited On Board Cameras

New FMCSA driver panel includes tank truck representation

Jan. 29, 2021
Members, including truckers from Atlantic Bulk, K-Limited, to provide feedback on critical CMV issues, initiatives

The U.S. Department of Transportation’s Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) recently named 25 drivers from across all sectors of the trucking industry to serve as a new panel to the agency’s Motor Carrier Safety Advisory Committee (MCSAC) comprised of commercial motor vehicle (CMV) drivers. 

The new panel includes tank truck drivers from Atlantic Bulk Carrier and K-Limited Carrier.

“FMCSA believes in listening to our drivers and hearing their concerns directly,” said Wiley Deck, FMCSA deputy administrator. “We know that many of the solutions to the challenges we face don’t come from Washington—they come from the hard-working men and women who are behind the wheel all over our nation.

“This new subcommittee to MCSAC will further help us hear from America’s commercial drivers.”

This new panel will provide direct feedback to FMCSA on important issues facing the driving community—such as safety, hours-of-service regulations, training, parking, and driver experience. This new panel is comprised of 25 drivers from all sectors of the CMV industry—tractor trailer drivers, straight truck drivers, motor coach drivers, hazardous materials drivers, agriculture haulers, and more. 

FMCSA says it is focused on hearing directly from commercial drivers and incorporating their opinions and concerns into its safety initiatives. The agency continues to hold listening sessions and discussions with the motor carrier industry to gather feedback and shape its priorities.

The panelists include:

  • Todd Spencer, chairman, Owner-Operator Independent Drivers Association (OOIDA)
  • William Bennett III, UPS Freight
  • Teddy Cranford, Waste Management of Maryland, Inc
  • Debra Desiderato, Walkabout Transport
  • Douglas Feathers, URS Midwest Inc.
  • Steve Fields, YRC Freight
  • JoAnne Forbes, MBT Worldwide, Inc.
  • Gerald Fritts, Jr., American Overland Freight
  • John Grosvenor, McKiernan Trucking
  • Attila Gyorfi, RSP Express Inc.
  • W. Scott Harrison, K-Limited Carriers
  • Rhonda Hartman, Old Dominion Freight Lines
  • Darwin Hershberger, Hershberger Livestock, LLC
  • Daniel Kobussen, Kobussen Buses, Ltd.
  • Deb Labree, Castle Transport, LLC
  • Alphonso Lewis, YRC Freight
  • Don Logan, FedEx Freight
  • Kellylynn McLaughlin, Schneider National, Inc.
  • Tina Peterson, Ravenwood Transport
  • Stephen Pryor, Greyhound Lines, Inc.
  • H. Kevin (Brandy) Russell, Transport America
  • Douglas Smith, Ralph Smith Co.
  • Kevin Steichen, Steichen Trucking
  • Angelique Temple, Atlantic Bulk Carrier
  • Desirée Wood, Real Women in Trucking

To learn more about the MCSAC committee, visit fmcsa.dot.gov/advisory-committees/mcsac/welcome-fmcsa-mcsac.

About the Author

BT staff