NTTC selects eight finalists for Professional Tank Truck Driver of the Year

Jan. 13, 2015

National Tank Truck Carriers has named eight professional tank truck drivers as finalists in the selection process to become the recipient of the prestigious Usher Trophy recognizing the industry’s professional tank truck driver of the year. The 2014-2015 Professional Tank Truck Driver of the Year will be named in Boston MA at NTTC’s 67th Annual Conference & Exhibits on April 27.

The trophy is named for William A. Usher, Sr. of Louisville, KY-based Usher Transport Inc, for his extensive career in and service to the tank truck industry. NTTC member Baldwin & Lyons Inc is the official sponsor of the Professional Tank Truck Driver of the Year program.

“On behalf of the NTTC leadership team, I want to congratulate all of our applicants this year,” said Chairman Dean E Kaplan, CEO of K-Limited Carriers, Toledo OH. “The caliber of the entire group was just incredible and our eight champion finalists represent some of the finest professionals out there on our nation’s highways. As a group, the finalists stand as the epitome of the NTTC’s mission to champion safety and success in our industry.”

Daniel R Furth, NTTC President, said: “I offer sincere thanks to our judges whose extremely difficult job was made even harder due to the breadth of experience and demonstrated safety performance of our applicant pool. I’d also like to thank our sponsor Baldwin & Lyons for their continued commitment to this first class program. This year’s champions group represents an excellent balance of three major markets--fuel, chemicals and food--that underscore the critical importance of tank trucks to the North American economy.”

Champions include the following professional drivers:

  • Olin Banks Jr, Florida Rock & Tank Lines Inc, Albany GA.
  • Charles Carmin, Ruan Transport Corp, Logansport IN.
  • William Scott Harrison, K-Limited Carrier Ltd, Cincinnati OH.
  • Rich Offord, LCL Bulk Transport, Elizabethtown PA.
  • Robert Stevens, McKenzie Tank Lines Inc, Panama City FL.
  • John Thurman, United Petroleum Transports, Tulsa OK.
  • Donald Tomberlin, Miller Transporters Inc, Surrency GA.
  • Bobby Weller, Hahn Transportation Inc, Monrovia MD.

The eight champions will now move on to the final round of the selection process, which will be held January 30. A panel of industry officials will judge the contestants on their knowledge of the trucking industry, dedication to safety, ability to communicate the industry’s messages, and overall safe driving record.

During the one-year term, the Grand Champion will serve as the NTTC spokesperson for the industry and will attend many NTTC events. The Professional Tank Truck Driver of the Year program furthers the NTTC’s mission to champion safety and success in both the tank truck community and the people it serves.