John Don John Distinguished 652d349ce31bb

Gulfmark executive wins TXTA safety award

Oct. 16, 2023
Don Baldridge claims Distinguished Safety honor during Texas Trucking Association’s Fall Safety Management Council Seminar

TXTA Recognizes Award Recipients at Fall Safety Management Council Seminar

Don Baldridge, Gulfmark Energy safety coordinator, claimed the Texas Trucking Association’s Distinguished Safety Award during the Safety Management Council’s Fall Seminar in San Marcos, Texas, where a number of individuals were honored for their contributions to the trucking industry, their companies, and TXTA. 

The Distinguished Safety Award honors an individual who exemplifies dedication to motor fleet safety and demonstrates interest, enthusiasm, and leadership in achieving the goals of protecting lives and property in the motor traffic environment. 

“This year’s award recipients exemplify the standards of the Safety Management Council,” John D. Esparza, TXTA president and CEO, said in a news release. “Their continued commitment to safety and the trucking industry makes them all ideal candidates to help promote and ensure safe practices on and off the road.” 

This year’s award recipients also included:

TXTA Driver of the Year

Robert Svoboda, Jr., Walmart Transportation

The TXTA Driver of the Year Award is selected from the best truck drivers operating in the state of Texas. After being nominated by their companies, drivers are rated in categories such as number of miles traveled without a chargeable accident, consistency, politeness on the road and tenure. The TXTA Driver of the Year represents TXTA in the American Trucking Associations’ competition for the National Driver of the Year title.

C.H. Cheshire Safety Award

Rommel Garcia, Houston Police Department (CVE Unit)

The C.H. Cheshire Award is presented to an individual in law enforcement, current or retired, and recognizes their support and contributions made to the TXTA SMC in promoting safer highways in Texas. 

SMC Excellence in Service Award 

Joe Colwell, Commercial Fleet Data Systems 

The Excellence in Service Award is presented to an individual who best exemplifies the willing dedication to be of service to SMC, the industry, their company, and the motoring public.

About the Author

BT staff