Chalk Mountain
Chalk Mountain Txta Award Facebook Copy 64cbb25ef372c

Tank truckers shine in TXTA safety awards

Aug. 3, 2023
Texas Trucking Association crowns Chalk Mountain as its Truck Safety Contest Grand Champion, while Dupré places first in its mileage category

Tank truck companies Chalk Mountain Services of Texas and Dupré Logistics recently collected prestigious safety awards during the Texas Trucking Association’s Annual Conference in San Antonio, with Chalk Mountain emerging as the TXTA Truck Safety Contest Grand Champion during the association’s awards luncheon.

Dupré placed first in the contest’s intercity 2.5-5 million miles category.

In addition, Don Baldridge, safety coordinator at Gulfmark Energy, received the Distinguished Safety Award.

“The men, women and companies recognized at TXTA’s Annual Safety and Maintenance Luncheon are the gold standard in the trucking industry,” John D. Esparza, TXTA president and CEO, said in a news release. “They are a critical piece of the supply chain and ensure trucks are operating safely day after day.

“We owe them a great bit of gratitude for their commitment to the industry and safety.”

See also: Chalk Mountain chalks up Samsara safety award 

This year’s award recipients, honored July 27 at the J.W. Marriott Hill Country Resort & Spa, are as follows:

TXTA Driver of the Year

  • Robert Svoboda, Jr., Walmart Transportation

The TXTA Driver of the Year Award is selected from the best truck drivers operating in the state of Texas. After being nominated by their companies, drivers are rated in categories such as number of miles traveled without a chargeable accident, consistency, politeness on the road and tenure. The TXTA Driver of the Year represents TXTA in the American Trucking Associations’ competition for the National Driver of the Year title.

Texas State Truck Driving Championship

The Truck Driving Championships are a project of the TXTA Safety Management Council (SMC), the local Safety Councils and TXTA Fleet Maintenance Council (FMC) that seek to promote safety and professionalism among commercial drivers. Three regional championships and one statewide championship are held in the spring with drivers qualifying for national competition. Drivers are tested on their ability to maneuver and control their vehicles under several difficult test situations.

  • Grand Champion and Twins: Ronald Ramon, HEB
  • Step Van Class: Zane Harrison, FedEx
  • Straight Truck: Ricardo Molina, Yellow Freight
  • 3 Axle Van: Olamide Olayiwola, FedEx Freight
  • 4 Axle Van: Edward Camacho, HEB
  • 5 Axle Van: Julio Pineda, Jr., Walmart
  • Tanker: Charles Ragland, Walmart
  • Flatbed: Ruben Cortez, HEB
  • Truckload/Sleeper: Darryl Sparkman, Walmart Transportation

Distinguished Safety Award

  • Don Baldridge, Gulfmark Energy

This award honors an individual that exemplifies dedication to motor fleet safety and demonstrates interest, enthusiasm and leadership in achieving the goals of protecting lives and property in the motor traffic environment.

TXTA Truck Safety Contest Grand Champion

  • Grand Champion: Chalk Mountain Services of Texas
  • First place in the Intercity under 2.5 million: BWI Companies
  • First place in the intercity 2.5-5 million: Dupre Logistics
  • First place in the Intercity 5-10 million: Double Diamond Transport
  • First place in the Intercity over 20 million: Walmart Transportation
  • First place in the Local Under 1 million: Redguard
  • First place in the Local 1 to 5 million: Clark Freight Lines
  • First place in the Local 5 to 10 million: Chalk Mountain Services of Texas
  • First place in the Local Over 10 million: FedEx Freight

The Truck Safety Contest Award recognizes fleets of TXTA member companies which developed dignified professional driving performance in the trucking industry. These state winners, judged by the company's lowest overall accident frequency experience rates, are presented trophies and plaques in recognition of their achievement.

2023 Technician of the Year Top 5

  • First place: Michael Kerfoot, Dickinson Fleet Services
  • Second place: Corey Tegeler, Old Dominion
  • Third place: Rudy Laguna, HEB
  • Fourth place: Charles Kerr, FedEx Freight
  • Fifth place: Andrew Hardy, Southwest International

The Technician of the Year Contest was initiated in 1982 by TXTA and the Fleet Maintenance Council to recognize the contributions of outstanding mechanics of the heavy vehicle fleet maintenance industry. This contest evaluates the mechanic's knowledge of their trade and ability to utilize that knowledge on basic mechanical problems.

About the Author

BT staff