Ilta Tr1 1077 Safety Awards

ILTA honors safety achievers

Aug. 24, 2020
Winners of association’s 14th annual Safety Excellence Awards produced outstanding safety performances in 2019

The International Liquid Terminals Association (ILTA) recently revealed the 22 terminal members who received Safety Excellence Awards for their outstanding safety performance.

The 2020 Safety Excellence Award went to:

  • Chemserve Terminal of Wilmington
  • Contanda Terminals
  • Energy Transfer
  • Ergon Terminaling
  • Flint Hills Resources
  • Intercontinental Terminals
  • LBC Houston-Seabrook
  • Marathon Petroleum Company
  • Martin Operating Partnership
  • Moda Midstream
  • Motiva Enterprises
  • Murphy Oil USA
  • NuStar Energy
  • Oiltanking North America
  • Petro-Diamond Terminal
  • Phillips 66 Company
  • Plains All American
  • Saudi Aramco (Eastern region distribution department)
  • U.S. Venture
  • South Florida Materials Corp/Vecenergy
  • Vopak Americas
  • Zenith Energy

“Safety is a core value of the terminal industry,” said ILTA Chairman Kip Middendorf, who also serves as vice president and managing director of Wolf Lake Terminals. “ILTA’s safety program not only allows us to measure our industry’s performance but also share success stories and learn from each other. I congratulate all the winners.”

ILTA’s safety awards, presented every year since 2007, recognize terminal operating member companies for outstanding safety performance. Each year, two companies—one large and one small—receive the highest honor, the Platinum Safety Award. These companies must achieve an average total recordable incident rate of 0.5 or less per 100 employees and submit a description of their company safety programs for review by an evaluation panel of their peers.

In June, ILTA announced that CITGO Petroleum Corporation and MIPC captured this year’s coveted Platinum Safety Awards. The two companies also won Five-Year Safety Milestone Awards for sustained excellence in terminal safety performance.

The 22 companies receiving the Safety Excellence Award each achieved a total recordable incident rate per 100 employees of 0.75 or less during 2019.