Skip navigation

United Petroleum Transports presents professionalism awards

United Petroleum Transports, Oklahoma City OK, named Danny Byars the “2012 Professional Driver of the Year”, according to Greg Price, UPT president and chief executive officer.

“For more than 15 years Danny has been an outstanding representative for UPT and has safely logged over 1.4 miles,” Price says. “With over 32 years’ experience he willingly shares his knowledge of the industry with others. Danny is an anchor for the Oklahoma City CSC and is the type of driver you build your entire fleet around. Safety, dependability and respect are just a few of the character traits you will find in Danny. The Oklahoma Trucking Association warded Danny the Professional Driver of the Year for the state of Oklahoma in 2009.”

Additionally honored as the “Recruit of the Year,” was Robert Roseen of the Houston TX Service Center. Awarded to that new member of the UPT team who is “professional, dedicated and exceptional,” Roseen was recognized for his knowledge of the trucking industry and his focus on safety as a top priority. Tony Cupples of the Abilene TX service center was named as the “2012 Technician of the Year.” Cupples was commended for his leadership and management during last year’s operation changes.

Other drivers recognized for superior performance were: Tim Clark and Ron Woods, Oklahoma City; Larry Dixon, Houston; Daniel Doyle, Albuquerque NM; Tommy Johnson and Brad Whitaker, Odessa TX; Kevin Jordan, San Antonio TX; Doug Million, Wichita KS; Ruben Perez, Dallas/Ft Worth TX; Paul Starnes, Shreveport LA; and John Thurman, Tulsa OK.

“To be named one of the top 12 drivers in a fleet of over 600 drivers is exceptional,” Price says. “These gentlemen deserve congratulations on a job well done.”

The Board of Directors of United Petroleum Transports, in a closed meeting January 26, 2013, unanimously voted to bestow the company’s highest non-driving recognition award upon Charlie Stein, the southern region Business Development Manager from Houston. Joining UPT in July 1999, Stein has worked tirelessly in both operations and sales, building lasting relationships with key vendors, customers, professional drivers, and staff. Her leadership and vision have helped to make UPT the largest fuel carrier in Texas and cement the company’s reputation as a dependable, consistent, and safe carrier of choice. Each and every day Stein has embodied the characteristics and attributes set by Harold G Wall, for whom this award is named.

TAGS: Archive
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.