NTTC announces name change for fleet safety program

Sept. 6, 2017

The Executive Committee of National Tank Truck Carriers (NTTC) announced a significant name change to its 69-year-old carrier safety award program to better quantify the safety achievement of its two carrier champions. Each year at its Annual Convention, NTTC recognizes two carriers as the best-in-class safety operators who receive coveted Heil Trophies. 

The two carriers will now be known as North American Safety Champions which befits the scope of competition and level of achievement, according to NTTC officials.

“We’re very pleased to see our Safety Committee and our Safety Council work together to rename our overall safety recognition program,” said NTTC Chairman Lee Miller of Miller Transporters.  “There is no higher recognition in our industry and I believe the new name underscores what it takes to earn this special award.”

Sponsored by Heil Trailer International for the past 35 years, these premier safety awards recognize two carriers who compete against peers in two different mileage classes. The mileage classes are named after the association’s first two and longest-serving presidents:  Austin Sutherland (1945-1972) and his successor Cliff Harvison (1972-2005). The mileage-based dividing line of the fleet size categories is 15 million miles.