Florida Rock & Tank Lines’ William White named 2016 Florida Driver of the Year

July 6, 2016

Patriot Transportation Holding Inc and its wholly owned subsidiary Florida Rock & Tank Lines Inc (FR&TL) announced that several FR&TL tank truck drivers were recently recognized at the annual Florida Trucking Association’s Truck Driving Championship and Safety Management Council Awards Banquet held on June 11 in Daytona FL.

Three company drivers (John Willingham, William White, and Dale Prevatt) were each awarded the honorable distinction of Florida Driver of the Month and, out of the 12 named Drivers of the Month, William White was named 2016 Florida Trucking Association Driver of the Year. White has been driving for the company for 30 years and has accumulated nearly 4 million accident free miles in his 40-year professional driving career.

Company officials praised the achievements, saying: “Congratulations to William, John, and Dale. These gentlemen, like so many others within our organization, are the main reason we are able to maintain a superior record in both safety and customer service within our industry.”

At the banquet, in front of over 1,000 attendees, the FTA also announced the winners of the prestigious Truck Driving Championship Awards. Twenty two drivers from around the state competed in the tanker class competition. Florida Rock & Tank Lines swept the awards with Gary Omerkov taking 1st place, Edwin Santos taking 2nd place, and Dennis Rollins taking 3rd place. Omerkov will now represent the Florida Trucking Association at the American Trucking Association’s National Truck Driving Championship to be held in August in Indianapolis IN.