NTTC selects 8 Champion Finalists for 2015-2016 Driver of the Year Award

Jan. 5, 2016

National Tank Truck Carriers has named eight professional tank truck drivers as Champion Finalists in its selection process to become the recipient of the prestigious Professional Tank Truck Driver of the Year Award. 

"The professionalism of the entire group made the judging process extremely difficult this year,” said NTTC Chairman Harold Sumerford Jr. “All of our applicants should be proud of their performance and commitment to safety.  This year’s group is a great cross section of our industry given its geographic balance and the group's experience in key tank truck service segments including fuel, chemicals, and dry bulk.”

NTTC President Daniel R Furth added: “Congratulations are due to our Champion Finalists, as well as all of our applicants in the third year of our program. With well over 20 million collective accident-free miles, our eight champions truly represent the best of the best in the most challenging of all trucking segments. Thanks are also due to our judges whose difficult task was made even harder by the number of exceptional applicants.”

The 2015-16 Champion Finalists are: Ronald Baird, Hoffman Transportation/G&D Trucking, Channahon IL; James Orik Daniels, Florida Rock & Tank Lines, Jacksonville FL; Willie Harris, Service Transport Co, Houston TX; William Scott Harrison,   K-Limited Carrier, Toledo OH; David McCormick, A&R Logistics, Morris IL; Darryl Nowell, Eagle Transport Corp, Rocky Mount NC; Todd Stine, Carbon Express, Wharton NJ; Donald Tomberlin, Miller Transporters, Jackson MS.

The champions will now move forward to the final round of the selection process, which will be held January 20 in Arlington VA. A panel of industry officials will judge the contestants on their knowledge of the tank truck industry, dedication to safety, ability to communicate the industry’s messages, and overall safe driving record.

The 2015-2016 Professional Tank Truck Driver of the Year Grand Champion will be announced in San Diego CA at NTTC’s 68th Annual Conference & Exhibits on April 25. During the Grand Champion’s one-year term, he will serve as the NTTC spokesperson for the industry and will attend NTTC events throughout the year. The Professional Tank Truck Driver of the Year Award furthers NTTC’s mission to champion safety and success in both the tank truck community and the people we serve.

NTTC member Baldwin & Lyons Inc is the official sponsor of the Professional Tank Truck Driver of the Year program.