ATA's 2011-2012 Road Team includes tank truck carrier driver

Feb. 1, 2011
Bob Weller, a tanker driver with Hahn Transportation in New Market MD, was among the 18 truck drivers named to the American Trucking Associations' 2011-2012

Bob Weller, a tanker driver with Hahn Transportation in New Market MD, was among the 18 truck drivers named to the American Trucking Associations' 2011-2012 America's Road Team.

Another tanker driver, Dale Williams with Trimac Transportation, was a finalist for the 2011-2012 America's Road Team. Over the past year, the tank truck industry was well represented on the America's Road Team by Ron Hawkins with K-Limited Carrier.

Eighteen Road Team Captains, with a collective 483 years behind the wheel and over 36.5 million accident-free miles, were selected from a group of 34 finalists. This premier group of professional truck drivers will spend the next two years representing the trucking industry and delivering its highway safety message to the motoring public.

“The America's Road Team puts an impressive face behind the wheel,” said ATA President and CEO Bill Graves. “These ambassadors to the industry have remarkable safe-driving records and an unmatched enthusiasm for their job and for the industry. Their desire to share their knowledge and passion for safety benefits the motoring public and helps keep our highways safe. The trucking industry is proud to welcome the 2011-2012 America's Road Team.”

ATA created America's Road Team in 1986. It continues today with the generous support of Volvo Trucks North America. The Team represents America's 3.4 million professional drivers and serves as an example of the professional dedication and teamwork needed to deliver America's freight safely and on time.

“Volvo Trucks congratulates the highly skilled drivers chosen to serve as trucking industry ambassadors in 2011 and 2012,” said Ron Huibers, senior vice-president of sales and marketing for Volvo Trucks North America. “These dedicated professionals help create safer highways for all of us and ensure the timely delivery of life's essentials.”

While maintaining their jobs as full-time professional drivers, the new America's Road Team Captains will now travel the country speaking on behalf of the trucking industry to the community, news media and public officials. The Captains will address transportation and safety issues, speaking at community events and anywhere they can reach the motoring public to share safe driving tips and offer advice on how to safely share the road with tractor-trailers.

The America's Road Team Captains also advocate safety to those within the industry at terminals and truck stops. They speak with fellow drivers, driver training students and corporate safety officers. They also have the opportunity to present trucking and safety issues before our public officials, at the national, state and local levels.

Also part of the 2011-2012 America's Road Team are: Willie Atkinson, Con-way Freight Inc, Florence SC; Gary G Babbitt, Central Freight Lines Inc, Irving TX; Joe Allen Boyd, Wal-Mart Transportation, Mt Crawford VA; David Boyer, ABF Freight System, Wytheville VA; Randall Dee Briggs, YRC, West Valley City UT; Danny Fuller, Con-way Freight Inc, Jonesboro AR; Samuel Douglas Lee, Old Dominion Freight Line, Greensboro NC; Alphonso Lewis, YRC, Montgomery AL; Kenny Lowry, Wal-Mart Transportation, Laurens SC; Dennis Martin, UPS Freight; Gaffney SC; Nate McCarty, ABF Freight System Inc, Denver CO; Tim McElwaney, ABF Freight System Inc, Conley GA; Roger L Nicholson, UPS Freight, Savannah GA; J W Ray, Werner Enterprises, Omaha NE; Dion Saiz, FedEx Freight, Albuquerque NM; Jeffrey Wade, Southeastern Freight Lines, Summerville SC; and Brooks Washburn, FedEx Freight, Albuquerque NM.