Skip navigation
NTTC Driver of the Year

NTTC opens 2019-20 Tank Truck Driver of the Year contest

National Tank Truck Carriers (NTTC) now is accepting nominations for the seventh NTTC Professional Tank Truck Driver of the Year contest.

The award honors tank truck drivers who serve the industry with the safest, most reliable transportation of liquid and dry bulk commodities. It was established to recognize excellence within the professional tank truck driver community, and highlight drivers who have demonstrated their personal commitment to safety.

“This contest is an essential part of our mission to champion safety and success in both the tank truck community and the people we serve,” the association said.

Application materials are available for download here.

Past NTTC Professional Tank Truck Driver of the Year Grand Champions:

  • 2013-2014—James Starr, Groendyke Transport
  • 2014-2015—Bobby Weller, Hahn Transportation
  • 2015-2016—Darryl Nowell, Eagle Transport Corporation
  • 2016-2017—Todd Stine, Carbon Express
  • 2017-2018—Paul Emerson, Foodliner
  • 2018-2019—Barbara Herman, K-Limited Carrier 

NTTC strongly encourages all eligible members to apply. 

The contest is administered under the organization’s Safety Committee. Eight driver Champion Finalists will be selected and one Grand Champion driver will emerge from this group as the NTTC Driver of the Year Award recipient. This individual will be selected for their ability to operate safely and professionally, demonstrate leadership abilities within their company, and contribute to the industry and community.

The William A Usher, Sr Trophy recipient will reign for one year.

All Champion Finalists will appear at NTTC’s Annual Meeting, where they will receive a hat, plaque, belt buckle and decal. The Grand Champion will receive a tank truck trophy, honorary jacket, commemorative ring and two golf shirts. In addition, the NTTC will make a $2,500 donation to a safety-related organization in the Grand Champion’s name. The winning company also will receive a traveling trophy for the reigning year.

Visit for more information.

TAGS: News
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.