Skip navigation
NTTC Herman Peterbilt truck NTTC

NTTC Driver of the Year celebrates with new tractor

Barbara Herman, a K-Limited Carrier driver and current National Tank Truck Carriers (NTTC) Professional Tank Truck Driver of the Year, recently received a 2020 Peterbilt 579 sleeper unit at the Northern Ohio Peterbilt dealership in Findlay OH. 

The new Peterbilt features high-end specifications from several NTTC member companies and sponsors, including Cummins, Eaton, Meritor and Michelin.

The original idea came to K-Limited owners Kim and Dean Kaplan after seeing how prior grand champions were recognized by their respective companies since the launch of the Driver of the Year program six years ago.

“New tractors and personalized decals really highlight the importance of this recognition program,” said Dean Kaplan, K-Limited’s CEO and former NTTC chairman, who guided the establishment of the program in 2013. “The tractor takes the entire program to a level commensurate with the title of grand champion and we simply could not be more proud of Barb and her commitment to safety.”

NTTC truck Herman group.jpg

A 35-year trucking veteran, Herman earned the Professional Tank Truck Driver of the Year award at NTTC’s 2019 Annual Conference in Las Vegas NV.  The award, which is sponsored by Great West Casualty Company, celebrates the excellence in safety and professionalism that is required of tank truck drivers across the nation. Each year, eight champion finalists serve as ambassadors for the tank truck industry, which transports liquid and dry bulk commodities, including hazardous materials, in order to provide essential services to the general public.

“Our first-class driver of the year program highlights the tank truck segment’s unparalleled commitment to safety throughout the industry,” said Dan Furth, NTTC president. “From our first grand champion, Groendyke’s Jim Starr, to K-Limited’s Barb Herman this past year, the program has been incredibly successful in shining light on the best of the best in our trucks.

“I commend former chairman Kaplan for his vision and Barb Herman for her dedication to safety over the course of her 35-year career in trucking. She is certainly deserving of a beautiful new Peterbilt.”

The next Driver of the Year award will be presented at the 75th edition of NTTC’s annual conference and exhibits May 4, 2020, in Washington DC.

NTTC Herman Peterbilt truck

TAGS: Trucks News
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.