Winners of the 2023 Mike Russell Trucking Industry Image Award

ATA opens nominations for Mike Russell award

July 2, 2024
Named in honor of the association’s former VP of public affairs, the Mike Russell Trucking Industry Image Award recognizes the industry’s most passionate representatives

American Trucking Associations now is accepting nominations for the 2024 Mike Russell Trucking Industry Image Award, which recognizes the most passionate representatives of the trucking industry’s image.

“The Mike Russell Award showcases the creativity and dedication of individuals and organizations to burnishing the image of trucking and raising positive awareness of the industry,” Sarah Rajtik, ATA chief operating officer, said in a news release.

“This award recognizes people who go above and beyond to improve the image of trucking, while inspiring others to contribute in the future.”

The Mike Russell award, sponsored by Great West Casualty Company, celebrates companies, organizations, and individuals who creatively generate awareness of the trucking industry. The award is presented to an individual, motor carrier, trucking organization, and industry supplier who demonstrate excellence in creating a positive image for the industry. This is illustrated by a safety-first approach to conducting business and professionalism, ATA said.

Last year, ATA recognized the Florida Trucking Association, Idaho Trucking Association, Total Transportation of Mississippi, Bob Bramwell, and Rob Phillips.

“Great West Casualty Company is proud to support an award as significant as the Mike Russell Trucking Industry Image Award,” said Steve Ponder, Great West Casualty senior vice president. “Thanks to the influence of past and future award winners, the image of trucking has become increasingly positive each year.”

The award is named in honor of Mike Russell, a trucking industry supporter and former ATA VP of public affairs.

Submissions for this year’s honor are assessed by a panel of judges based on creativity, frequency, reach, impact, and execution.

Completed nominations must be submitted to the ATA industry affairs department no later than Aug. 6. The winners of the 2024 Mike Russell award will be announced during ATA’s Management Conference and Exhibition, set for Oct. 12-15 in Nashville, Tennessee.

About the Author

BT staff