117669633 | Adobe Stock

ATA names Law Enforcement Advisory Board

Feb. 13, 2024
American Trucking Associations selects 27 new members to strengthen relationships between trucking and law enforcement in 2024

American Trucking Associations recently named 27 new trucking industry and law enforcement officials to its 2024 Law Enforcement Advisory Board (LEAB).

“Now in its fourth year, the Law Enforcement Advisory Board continues to deliver results on a whole host of issues impacting highway safety,” Chris Spear, ATA president and CEO, said in a news release. “This group’s engagement with state officials and local, state, and national law enforcement organizations has helped secure hundreds of millions of dollars in federal grant funding to expand truck parking capacity across the country.

“Security, including cargo theft and cybercrime, has now been added to ATA’s strategic priorities, further demonstrating the ATA Federation’s commitment to our partners in law enforcement.” 

Formed in 2021, ATA’s LEAB advises the ATA Federation on strategies to grow and strengthen relationships between the trucking industry and law enforcement organizations across the country. Comprised of ATA members with previous experience in federal, state, or local law enforcement, as well as current and retired law enforcement officials, this year’s LEAB members boast 685 years of law enforcement experience.

For the coming year, the LEAB will be chaired by Mark Savage, director of connected truck solutions at Drivewyze. Steve Dowling, director of enterprise safety training at Covenant Logistics Group, and Steve Keppler, co-director of Scopelitis Transportation Consulting, will serve as the board’s first and second vice chairmen, respectively.

“Throughout my career spanning both law enforcement and trucking, I’ve come to appreciate the synergy that exists between these two professional communities,” Savage said. “When we combine forces, we have an enormously positive impact on highway safety, and I’m honored to now assume this role to foster that kind of cooperation at the highest levels.”

The members of this year’s board are:

  • Andrew Beckett, Amazon
  • Christopher Vinson, Midlothian (Texas) Police Department 
  • Derek Barrs, HNTB
  • Fred Fakkema, Zonar Systems
  • Gary McCarthy, Aurora Innovation
  • Jake Elovirta, Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance 
  • Janice Mulanix, PrePass Safety Alliance 
  • Jeff DeVere, Washington Trucking Associations 
  • Jeff Ferber, J.B. Hunt Transport Services
  • Jeff Tippit, La Porte (Texas) Police Department 
  • John Rigney, Pennsylvania Motor Truck Association 
  • John Samis, Drivewyze
  • Jonathan Beshears, J.B. Hunt Transport Services
  • Keith Eoff, J.B. Hunt Transport Services
  • Malik A Henderson, PrePass Safety Alliance 
  • Marc Nichols, Drivewyze
  • Mark Savage, Drivewyze  
  • Michael Martin, Old Dominion Freight Line
  • Parker Harrison, Old Dominion Freight Line
  • Richard Elliott, Safeway Transportation
  • Rocco Marrari, EBE Technologies 
  • Ron Cordova, Zonar Systems
  • Steve Dowling, Covenant Logistics Group
  • Steve Keppler, Scopelitis Transportation Consulting 
  • Tim Cardwell, High Intensity Drug Trafficking Areas  
  • Todd Armstrong, Illinois State Police 
  • Will Cole, Montana Trucking Association   

“Our mission is to develop processes that are mutually beneficial to the safety goals that the trucking industry and law enforcement share,” Dowling said. “The incredible breadth and depth of experience represented on this board will serve the entire motoring public well as we partner together to increase safety across our nation’s highways.”

About the Author

BT staff