Groendyke Fuel Transport Facebook

Tank truckers fill ATRI’s advisory board

Jan. 4, 2023
Representatives from Groendyke, Eagle, and J&M Tank Lines among 34 members on the American Transportation Research Institute’s 2023-24 Research Advisory Committee

Tank Truckers are well represented on the American Transportation Research Institute’s newly appointed 2023-24 Research Advisory Committee (RAC), which includes executives from Groendyke Transport, Eagle Transport, and J&M Tank Lines.

The RAC is responsible for annually identifying the top research priorities for the trucking industry. 

The 34-member committee includes Groendyke’s Colin Abernathy, director of performance and analytics; Eagle’s Bree Bryant, vice president of safety; and J&M vice president Andrew Petrofsky. “I could not be more excited to begin working with such a distinguished group of individuals focused on the most important issues in the transportation industry,” Abernathy said in a LinkedIn post.

RAC members represent a diverse cross-section of trucking industry stakeholders, including motor carriers, industry suppliers, commercial drivers, shippers, law enforcement, academia and government. Ben Banks, vice president of operations for Tennessee-based TCW, was appointed to serve as the committee’s chair.

“ATRI’s RAC members serve a critical role in identifying and prioritizing the trucking industry’s top research needs,” Rebecca Brewster, ATRI president, said in a news release. “We congratulate all those appointed by the ATRI board to serve in this important role and look forward to working with them.”

The 2023-2024 ATRI Research Advisory Committee members are:

  • Colin Abernathy, director of performance and analytics, Groendyke Transport
  • Brent Allred, transportation practice leader and managing director, Higginbotham Transportation Services
  • Andrew Andrusko, statewide freight planning director, Minnesota Department of Transportation
  • Renee Bowen, principal, Franklin & Prokopik
  • Tony Bradley, president and CEO, Arizona Trucking Association
  • Michael Bray, chief commercial officer, Platform Science
  • Joyce Brenny, president and CEO, Brenny Transportation
  • Bree Bryant, vice president of safety, Eagle Transport
  • Mark Colson, president and CEO, Alabama Trucking Association
  • Mark Doughty, president and CEO, PrePass Safety Alliance
  • Steve Fields, America’s Road Team captain, Yellow
  • Rob Haddock, group director for planning and logistics, Coca-Cola North America
  • Evangelos Kaiser, director of the Freight Mobility Research Institute, Florida Atlantic University
  • Jackie Kelly, senior federal affairs representative, FedEx
  • Mike Ludwick, chief administrative officer, Bison Transport
  • Ken Marko, fleet sustainability senior manager, US Foods
  • Andrew Mills, vice president of operations, TrueNorth Companies
  • Andrew Owens, CEO and manager, A&M Transport
  • Andrew Petrofsky, vice president, J&M Tank Lines
  • Lt. Dustin Ragon, commercial carrier enforcement, Wyoming Highway Patrol
  • Jose Samperio, executive director for end-user sales, Cummins
  • Jon Samson, executive director for the Agricultural and Food Transporters Conference, American Trucking Associations
  • Amanda Schuier, director of employee engagement, Jetco Delivery
  • Andrea Serra, senior enterprise product manager, CH Robinson
  • Kimberly Skelton, senior manager for consumer insights, Pilot Flying J
  • Mike Stapleton, vice president of industry relations, ISAAC Instruments
  • Kerry Stritt, vice president of fleet services, Southeastern Freight Lines
  • Daniel Studdard, principal planner, Transportation Access and Mobility Division, Atlanta Regional Commission
  • Heather Sykes, director of the Office of Supply Chain, Professional, and Business Services, U.S. Department of Commerce International Trade Administration
  • Gregg Troin, president, PGT Trucking
  • Stephen Truono, EVP and chief risk officer, NFI Industries
  • Connie Vaughn, manager of government relations, McKee Foods
  • Tom Weakley, director of operations, Owner-Operator Independent Drivers Association Foundation