Nttc 2019 Doy Herman

NTTC pushes 2019-20 Grand Champion driver selection to 2021

July 15, 2020
Association says cancellation of conference, timing made it impossible to name seventh Tank Truck Driver of the Year

National Tank Truck Carriers (NTTC) recently announced it won’t name a Professional Tank Truck Driver of the Year (PTTDOY) for the 2019-20 class until after the 2021 Annual Conference.

The association says it was forced to make the decision after the 75th Anniversary Annual Conference and Exhibits, originally slated for May 3-5 in Washington DC, was cancelled in March due to the COVID-19 pandemic, which also made it impossible for NTTC to hold the PTTDOY award ceremony.

The plan now is to delay the selection of a grand champion until the 2021 Annual Conference May 2-4 in San Diego CA.

“Many factors led to this decision, but chief among them is the fact that a large part of what makes the PTTDOY award so prestigious and sought-after is the driver’s opportunity to serve for a full year as the grand champion,” NTTC said. “The grand champion becomes the public face of safety and success across the tank truck industry, a role that would be compromised by a delayed award ceremony and an ongoing pandemic.

“While unfortunate, these times require difficult decisions. Rest assured, the champion finalists will be rewarded by their experience in 2021. NTTC would like to thank all of the drivers in the tank truck nation.”

The eight 2019-20 champion finalists named in January who are up for the seventh PTTDOY award include:

Before the first stay-at-home orders were issued in March, the finalists were able to advance to the final round of the selection process in Arlington VA, where a panel of industry professionals judged the contestants on their knowledge of the tank truck industry, dedication to safety, ability to communicate the industry’s messages, overall safe driving record, and their positive community efforts outside of their driving responsibilities.

The PTTDOY award honors tank truck drivers who serve the industry with the safest, most reliable transportation of liquid and dry bulk commodities. It was established to recognize excellence within the professional tank truck driver community, and highlight drivers who have demonstrated their personal commitment to safety.

The contest is administered under the organization’s Safety Committee.

Past NTTC Professional Tank Truck Driver of the Year Grand Champions include:

“This contest is an essential part of our mission to champion safety and success in both the tank truck community and the people we serve,” the association said.