Bulktransporter 5613 National Truck Driving Championships Tank Truck 0

Woodrome wins big at Truck Driving Championships

Aug. 20, 2018
FedEx Freight driver secures Tank Truck national title, Bendix Grand Champion award in Columbus OH

FedEx Freight driver Scott Woodrome, while competing in the Tank Truck Division, recently was named Bendix Grand Champion of the 2018 National Truck Driving Championships in Columbus OH. 

“Congratulations to Scott Woodrome and his team at FedEx Freight for winning this year’s Bendix Grand Champion Award,” said Chris Spear, ATA president and CEO. “This process began with thousands of drivers competing at the state level, but only one driver can emerge as overall grand champion, and it’s a testament to Scott’s commitment to safety and his craft that he was able to take home top honors this year.”

Woodrome, a Middletown OH resident who also took home the Tank Truck class national title, is a longtime competitor in truck driving championships, with more than 1.8 million lifetime safe driving miles. He’s been in the trucking industry for 25 years, spending 12 of those with his current employer, FedEx Freight.

This is the first Bendix Grand Champion award for Woodrome, who won his state championship a perfect twelve times in twelve attempts.

“What an honor it’s been to host hundreds of the nation’s elite truck drivers this week and showcase their skills as safe professionals,” said Elisabeth Barna, ATA’s chief operating officer and executive vice president of Industry Affairs.

“From start to finish, Columbus was a great location and we were excited to see such great support from the families and friends who came out to support these drivers.”

ATA also recognized Ronald Zieser as the 2018 Rookie of the Year. Zeiser claimed the title after an outstanding performance in the 3-Axle division. To be a “rookie,” drivers must be first-time competitors at the state level who advanced to nationals. This year, there were 28 rookies competing at the National Truck Driving Championships.

In addition to the individual awards, the team of drivers from Nevada went home with the Team Championship. The state of Pennsylvania took home second-place honors, with Colorado coming in third place.

National champions from each of the 9 vehicle classes:

  • 3-Axle: Eric Courville, FedEx Freight, Louisiana
  • 4-Axle: Nick Arnold, FedEx Freight, Oklahoma
  • 5-Axle: Duane Staveness, FedEx Freight, Wisconsin
  • Flatbed: Steven Newsome, UPS Freight, South Carolina
  • Sleeper Berth: Artur Lesniowski, FedEx Ground, New Jersey
  • Straight Truck: Dale Brenaman, UPS, Kentucky
  • Tank Truck: Scott Woodrome, FedEx Freight, Ohio
  • Twins: Miguel Corral, FedEx Freight, Illinois
  • Step Van: Eric Damon, FedEx Express, Colorado

Other Awards

  • Rookie of the Year: Ronald Zieser, FedEx Freight, Oregon
  • Team Champions: Nevada
  • Vehicle Condition: Michael Whitehead, FedEx Freight in the 3-Axle division
  • Highest Written Exam Award: Three perfect scores – Michael Flippin, FedEx Freight in the Twins division; Tony Spero, ABF Freight in the Tank Truck division; and Eric Courville, FedEx Freight in the 3-Axle division
  • Neill Darmstadter Professional Excellence: Neil P. Nogues, YRC Freight, New Hampshire in the Straight Truck division
  • Sam Gillette Volunteer of the Year Award: Jerry Waddell, Cargo Transporters