Polar Tank
Petroleum Trailer Gallery 2

Polar Tank honored for safety

June 4, 2021
Trailer manufacturer receives 2020 Outstanding Achievement Award in Occupational Safety from Minnesota Safety Council

Polar Tank Trailer recently was recognized for excellence in workplace safety at the 2021 Virtual Minnesota Safety and Health Conference.

The tank trailer manufacturer, which received the Outstanding Achievement Award in Occupational Safety, was one of 221 employers honored through the awards program, coordinated by the Minnesota Safety Council.

“In a year that challenged all of us in ways we never imagined, we were very pleased to recognize Polar Tank Trailer for their award,” said Paul Aasen, president of the Minnesota Safety Council.
“Safety demands extraordinary attention in a normal year, double that attention this past year. Thank you, Polar Tank Trailer for keeping your employees safe.”

Randall Swift, CEO of Engineered Transportation International, Polar Tanks’ parent company, said he was proud of the Polar team’s efforts.

“Polar Tank has had an exceptional year, earning two internal awards for 2020 safety performance,” he said. “Now, to receive this external recognition as well, is validation of their hard work.”

Since 1934, the annual Governor’s Safety Awards program has honored Minnesota employers with exceptional safety performance. Applicants are judged on several years of injury data as it compares with their industry’s national statistics and on their progress in implementing a comprehensive safety program.

Winners are recognized at three levels:

  1. Meritorious Achievement (63 winners): Incidence rates that are better than the industry average for at least three years, and a score between 50 and 74 on a 100-point safety program evaluation scale.
  2. Outstanding Achievement (106 winners): Continuing improvement and/or a continuing outstanding record with incidence rates that are 51 to 90% better than the industry average, and a score between 75 and 90 on the safety program evaluation scale.
  3. Award of Honor (52 winners): Incidence rates at least 91% better than the industry average, and a score between 91 and 100 on the safety program evaluation scale.