Skip navigation

Top drivers to vie in Super Bowl of Safety

Nearly 400 top professional truck drivers from all across the United States will be heading for Minneapolis MN for the 2007 National Truck Driving Championships (NTDC), to be held August 21-25 in the Minneapolis Convention Center. The competition was last held in Minneapolis in 2001. This “Super Bowl of Safety” is sponsored annually by the American Trucking Associations.

NTDC contestants are the state champions from all 50 states. States send winners from each class of competition — from 18-wheeled five-axle sleepers to tank trucks to twin trailers to straight trucks — eight competing classes in all.

Drivers will compete for four days, challenging their driving skills, and knowledge of safety, equipment and the industry. The test course generally includes real-world obstacles such as an alley dock, a rear and/or front line stop, a scales stop, a right or left turn, parallel parking, and straight line driving through a diminishing clearance.

On August 25, a new National Grand Champion Truck Driver, individual champions in each class, and a state champion team will be announced.

For more information, visit

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.