Skip navigation

Manfredi Wins 5th NTTC Safety Trophy

For the fifth time in the past 11 years, Manfredi Motor Transit Company of Newbury, Ohio, has won the Outstanding Performance Trophy in the National Tank Truck Carriers' annual Tank Truck Safety Contest. Manfredi was selected from a group of 11 carriers that had won the Grand Award in their respective mileage categories for calendar year 1997.

Manfredi Motor Transit had an accident frequency of only .309 per million miles for 1997. In addition to winning the Outstanding Performance Trophy, Manfredi was the Grand Award winner in the 35-45-million miles category in the Competitive Safety Contest, and the Grand Award winner in the Personnel Safety Contest. The carrier also received a 10-year Improvement Award.

Richard Manfredi is president of Manfredi Motor Transit, and Fred Sajewski is director of safety, compliance, & insurance. Sajewski has been Manfredi safety director since 1986.

The Outstanding Performance Trophy is awarded annually by Heil Trailer International of Chattanooga, Tennessee, and is presented each year to the carrier that is judged to have the best all-around safety program in the tank truck industry during the previous year.

Contest judges this year were: Trooper A L Brock, commercial vehicle enforcement division, Maryland State Police; Bill Butterbaugh, National Propane Gas Association; Del Billings, Research and Special Programs Administration, Department of Transportation; and Gary Curtis, Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance.

NTTC conducts four annual safety contests, including a Competitive Safety Contest in which carriers compete in separate mileage classes; the Safety Improvement Contest in which a carrier competes against its own record for the previous year; a Personnel Safety Contest that is based on injuries per hours worked; and the Outstanding Performance Contest.

Awards to safety directors in charge of the winning programs were presented at the NTTC Tank Truck Safety Council annual meeting in Nashville, Tennessee, in April. Winning companies will be recognized at NTTC's 50th Anniversary Conference & Tank Truck Equipment Show in Washington DC, May 18-20.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.