Skip navigation
NTTC safety

NTTC accepting applications for 2018 NA Safety Contest

National Tank Truck Carriers (NTTC) now is accepting applications for the 2018 North American Safety Contest, which recognizes the tank truck operations in North America with the best safety record for the year.

The winner of the Sutherland and Harvison divisions will claim the prestigious North American Safety Champion Trophy (sponsored by Heil Trailer International) and be recognized at NTTC’s 71st Annual Conference & Exhibits, which is set for April 23-25 at the Wynn Resort in Las Vegas NV.

“Even if you don’t believe that your operation can win, we encourage you to submit your data,” NTTC said in a release. “The information we receive is a valuable asset. NTTC uses it in our advocacy efforts to show lawmakers that we are the safest segment in the trucking industry.”

All miles and DOT-reportable accidents for a company’s owner/operators and independent contractors must be included on the first page of the form. If injuries for owner/operators and contractors are not reported to the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA), their hours and injuries should not be included on the second page of the form.

As in previous years, NTTC is asking for “type-of-haul” information on the entry form. The categories are:

  • Local Operations: 75% or more of miles reported are from trips between pickup and delivery of 200 miles or less.
  • Long Haul Operations: 75% or more of miles reported are from trips between pickup and delivery of 200 miles or more.
  • Mixed Operations: Carrier conducts both local and long haul operations and miles reported do not exceed 75% in either category.

Procedural Guidance: The contest is conducted in two stages. The first stage evaluates Recordable Accident Frequency based on recordable accidents per million miles. Only the two pages enclosed must be completed at this point.

This information will be used for the Competitive Contest portion. The winners by mileage will be contacted to provide additional information to compete for the NTTC Outstanding Safety Performance Award in one of two divisions: Harvison and Sutherland.

The pages must be returned by Friday, Feb. 22, to be considered for the Competitive Contest.

NTTC will provide category winners with a fillable pdf file containing the entire contest entry form, which must be completed to be considered for the NTTC Outstanding Safety Performance Awards.

“The winning forms in each mileage category will be sent to an auditor who will verify recordable accidents and mileage listed against SafeStat and other available DOT information,” NTTC said. “A similar review will be conducted for Canadian carriers.”

More information, including guidelines for completing the form and DOT accident definitions, is available here. Download the application here.


Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.