Skip navigation

CDL training grants awarded to 9 programs

The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) has awarded a total of $1 million in grants to nine technical and community colleges to enhance classroom safety curriculums and behind-the-wheel training courses for students enrolled in commercial driver license (CDL) training programs.

The grant program has two goals: to expand the number of CDL holders possessing enhanced operator safety training to help reduce the severity and number of crashes on roads involving commercial motor vehicles and to assist economically-distressed regions of the United States by providing workforce training opportunities for qualified individuals to become CMV operators.

Institutions receiving the grants include:

•Maricopa Community College, Glendale AZ.

•Arkansas State University, Newport AR.

•West Hills Community College, Coalinga CA.

•Waubonsee Community College, Sugar Grove IL.

•Ozarks Technical Community College, Springfield MO.

•National Tractor Trailer School Inc, Liverpool NY.

•Cuyahoga Community College, Cleveland OH.

•Lehigh Carbon Community College, Schnecksville PA.

•Orangeburg-Calhoun Technical College, Orangeburg SC.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.