What’s in Print
Darryl Nowell
Darryl Nowell

Darryl Nowell named 2016/2017 NTTC Professional Tank Truck Driver of the Year

DARRYL Nowell, a Richmond, Virginia-based driver with Eagle Transport, was named 2016/2017 National Tank Truck Carrier’s William A Usher Sr Professional Tank Truck Driver of the Year April 25 during NTTC’s 68th Annual Conference in San Diego, California. He is the third recipient of the award.

Clearly moved by his selection, Nowell said he was blessed by the award and hopes to use it to strengthen his driver mentoring and community outreach efforts.

A 31-year truck driving veteran, Nowell has accumulated 2.9 million accident-free miles during his 14 years with Eagle Transport. He has been a member of the Eagle Transport President’s Million Mile Club since 2012. A Certified Trainer for the fuel hauler, his sense of pride and energy toward error-free work compel him to be a constant mentor and source of knowledge to other drivers within the company.

“All of Eagle Transport congratulates Darryl, and celebrates his continued commitment to safety and excellence,” says Ron Thomas, Eagle Transport vice-president of human resources. “We are very proud to have someone as professional and caring as Darryl to be part of the Eagle family.”

Nowell is as active in the community as he is at Eagle Transport. An Army Veteran, Nowell is a Boy Scout leader, a little league football and baseball coach, a Search & Rescue Coast Guard volunteer, and a community advocate for fire prevention. Most distinctive of all, he conducts fire prevention classes and demonstrations for schools and community organizations in his professional wrestler persona—“Pyro the human Incinerator”—complete with flaming fingertips.

“The Professional Tank Truck Driver of the Year Award represents a diligent commitment to safety that is embodied in the NTTC’s mission statement,” says NTTC President Dan Furth. “I had the privilege to meet Darryl Nowell this year during our interview process, and I know that he will be a tremendous safety representative for NTTC and its membership. All eight champion driver finalists are safety experts and represent the very best of our industry.”

The other 2015-2016 Professional Tank Truck Driver Champion Finalists were:

Ronald Baird, a Hoffman Transportation/G&D Trucking, Channahon, Illinois, driver with 6.7 million accident-free miles. A 15-year employee at Hoffman Transportation, Baird has accumulated two million safe miles of driving at Hoffman Transportation and one million safe miles at Krieder Truck Service. He has received 174 Truck Show Awards, a Truck Lite Trophy in 2008, and a Truck Show Diesel Dave Award-Pick of the Litter. Community service includes driving in 13 truck parades that raised money for the Special Olympics and the Make-A-Wish Foundation and being a 55-year member of the Church of Christ.

James Orik Daniels, a Florida Rock & Tank Lines driver based in Jacksonville, Florida. In addition to 4.42 million miles of accident-free driving, he has received 32 consecutive annual safe driving awards and is a four-time recipient of the Driver of the Quarter Award-Albany Terminal. He is a driver trainer and mentor for new and young drivers and serves on the Terminal Incident Safety Committee. He has coached football for 10 years at the City Recreation Facility, coached Pony League baseball for several years, and is part of the Chaplin Service at his church.

Willie Harris, a driver for Service Transport Co in Houston, Texas. In addition to 5.1 million accident-free miles of driving, he is on the carrier’s accident review board and he is a driver trainer.

William Scott Harrison, a K-Limited Carrier Ltd driver based in Toledo, Ohio. With 2.3 million miles of accident-free driving, Harrison has garnered considerable attention as K-Limited Carrier 2011 Rising Star high hours, K-Limited Carrier, 2014 Driver of the Year, K-Limited Carrier 2013 & 2012 High Hours, Ohio Trucking Association 2011 Driver of the Year finalist, 2015 Truck Driving Championships 4th Place (tanker), 2014 Truck Driving Championships 12th Place (tanker), and 2014 NTTC Driver of the Year finalist. Community service includes volunteering for “Families with ASD,” an autism support group.

David McCormick, a Morris, Illinois-based driver for A&R Logistics. His 3.25 million miles of accident-free driving have earned three individual Million Mile Safe Driving awards. He represented A&R Logistics in 2013 promotional/recruiting video. He works with Wounded Warrior benefit program and has been a member of the loyal Order of Moose since 1986.

Todd Stine, a driver with Carbon Express in Wharton, New Jersey. With 1.5 million miles of accident-free driving, he has earned a number of safe driving awards and was a 2013-2014 America’s Road Team Captain. He is a driver trainer for new hires. Stine coaches for the Pennsylvania Special Olympics in Blair County, serves as a chaperone for Project Winter Warmth, and is a member of the Bavarian Aid Society.

Donald Tomberlin, a driver for Miller Transporters, has more than 3.5 million miles of accident-free driving over his career, including 11 years of safe driving at Miller Transporters. He was a 2014-2015 NTTC Professional Tank Truck Driver finalist. He is a driver trainer at Miller Transporters’ Savannah, Georgia, terminal and mentors other drivers after they have been involved in an incident or accident.

The NTTC Professional Tank Truck Driver of the Year program is sponsored by Baldwin & Lyons Inc, a specialist in marketing and underwriting insurance for the transportation industry. This year’s Grand Champion served as a featured speaker at NTTC’s annual safety conference in St Petersburg, Florida, and designated a $2,500 charitable gift to the Make-A-Wish Foundation.  ♦


Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.