Two tank truck carriers received Outstanding Performance Trophies for tank truck safety in 2014 Randall Swift center Heil Trailer International stands with Bob Wynne left Wynne Transport Service Inc winner in the under 15million mile category and John McNairy right Tidewater Transit Co Inc winner in the over 15million mile class

Two tank truck carriers received Outstanding Performance Trophies for tank truck safety in 2014. Randall Swift [center], Heil Trailer International, stands with Bob Wynne [left], Wynne Transport Service Inc, (winner in the under 15-million mile category) and John McNairy [right], Tidewater Transit Co Inc, (winner in the over 15-million mile class).

Tidewater Transit, Wynne Transport claim NTTC’s top safety award

Tidewater Transit Co Inc and Wynne Transport Service Inc were the newest recipients of the National Tank Truck Carriers’ Outstanding Safety Performance Trophies. The awards were presented April 28 during the National Tank Truck Carriers 67th Annual Conference in Boston, Massachusetts.

This marks the first year that two trophies were awarded. NTTC changed the program to recognize a high-mileage fleet and a lower-mileage fleet. The dividing line is 15 million miles. Both trophies are sponsored by Heil Trailer International, the sponsor for more than 30 years.

Going forward, the lower mileage award will be called the Sutherland Award in honor of Austin Sutherland, one of the founders of NTTC and the first president of the association. The higher mileage award will be named the Harvison Award in recognition of Cliff Harvison, the second president of the association.

“NTTC updated this prestigious award program to better reflect the diversity of our carrier members and bring greater visibility to more carrier members that are living the NTTC mission on safety,” said Fritz Mead, NTTC’s vice-president of government affairs and member services. “Tidewater Transit and Wynne Transport represent the very best of our industry, and we are proud to recognize their outstanding safety performance.”

Tidewater Transit, Kinston, North Carolina, won in the 31.5-40 million miles high mileage category with an accident frequency of .368 accidents per million miles, and Wynne Transport, Omaha, Nebraska, was the lower mileage winner in the 12.5-15 million miles category with an accident frequency of .314 accidents per million miles.

Tidewater Transit’s David Edgerton and Wynne Transport’s Alan Roberts were named NTTC safety Professionals of the Year.

Tidewater Transit won the Grand Awards in the 2014 Competitive Safety Contest and the Competitive Safety Contest/Safety officials in its mileage category, as did Wynne Transport, which also received an Honor Award in the 2014 Personnel Safety Contest with a frequency of 0.89.

The two carriers earned their trophies with an outstanding safety record, safety and preventive maintenance programs, personnel safety program and record, contributions to promoting safety throughout the tank truck industry, and contributions to the cause of general highway safety. ♦

<View more 2015 NTTC Annual Conference coverage

View more 2015 NTTC Annual Conference coverage>

Find the NTTC Annual Conference Report archive with articles from 2011 to present



Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.