Groendyke Earns Sixth NTTC Safety Trophy

Groendyke Transport Inc of Enid, Oklahoma, snared its sixth Outstanding Performance Trophy in the National Tank Truck Carriers Tank Track Safety Contest. This is also the second-consecutive year that the Oklahoma tank truck carrier won the award. Groendyke was selected from a group of 11 carriers that had won the Grand Award in their respective mileage categories for calendar year 2000.

Groendyke Transport had an accident frequency of .269 per million miles for 2000. In addition to winning the Outstanding Performance Trophy, Groendyke was the Grand Award winner in the 50-90 million miles class in the Competitive Safety Contest and the Merit Award winner in that same mileage category for the Personnel Safety Contest. The Oklahoma carrier also received a 15-year Improvement Award.

John D Groendyke is chairman of the board of Groendyke Transport, and Steve Niswander is vice-president of safety & compliance.

Niswander will be named Safety Director of the Year at the NTTC Tank Truck Safety Council annual meeting April 10-12 in San Antonio, Texas. The meeting will be at the historic Menger Hotel, just a few yards from the Alamo.

The Outstanding Performance Trophy is awarded annually by Heil International of Chattanooga, Tennessee. It is presented each year to the carrier that is judged to have the best comprehensive safety program in the tank truck industry during the previous year.

Contest judges this year were: Joe Evans, Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, Department of Transportation; Carl Johnson, Compressed Gas Association; Bill Nalley, motor carrier safety consultant; and Captain Bruce Bugg, Georgia Public Service Commission.

NTTC conducts four annual safety contests. These include a Competitive Safety Contest in which carriers compete in separate mileage classes; the Safety Improvement Contest in which a carrier competes against its own record for the previous year; a Personnel Safety Contest that is based on injuries per hours worked; and the Outstanding Performance Contest.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.